Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Betsy Curtis Papers

A description of her papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 19 Mar 2010

Biographical History

Betsy Curtis (b. 1918) was an American author of science fiction. She published her first story, "Divine Right," in the Summer, 1950 issue of Fantasy & Science Fiction and her 1969 story "The Steiger Effect" was nominated for a Hugo Award.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Betsy Curtis Manuscript consists of a single manuscript, of a creative writing textbook focused on science fiction themes, called Passwords.

Arrangement of the Collection

There are no restrictions on this material.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings


Curtis, Betsy.


Science fiction -- Study and teaching.
Science fiction, American.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Betsy Curtis Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Betsy Curtis, 1975.

Table of Contents