Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Richard Curle Letters

A description of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 3 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Curle, Richard, 1883-1968.
Title: Richard Curle Letters
Dates: 1929-1938
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: 2 letters of the American author and Conrad scholar.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Richard (Henry Parnell) Curle (1883-1968) was an American author and literary scholar. He was a friend of Joseph Conrad and was best known for his scholarship on the British author.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Richard Curle Letters contains 2 letters by Curle. The first is dated 30 Jan 1929 and handwritten on Hotel La Salle, New York letterhead. It is addressed to George M. Adams of New York City. In the letter, Curle asks Adams to visit him while he is staying in New York.

The second letter is dated 12 May 1938 and typed on Hotel Latham, New York letterhead, with a handwritten postscript by Curle. It is addressed to Professor Herbert West of New Hampshire. In the letter, Curle enquires about the date of a book published by Mrs. Cunninghame Graham, in reference to a volume of correspondence Curle was editing of letters between the Scottish politician and W. H. Hudson.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center holds many of Curle's published works on Joseph Conrad.


Subject Headings

Persons

Cunninghame Graham, Gabriela, 1861-1906.
Curle, Richard, 1883-1968.

Places

New York (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Richard Curle Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Letters


Inventory

Letters
SC 400 1929, 1938