Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Crusade for Opportunity Records

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Processing of this collection was made possible by a gift from Alexander N. Charters. The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 1 Nov 2010

Revision history:
22 Nov 2010 related mat (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Crusade for Opportunity (Syracuse, N.Y.)
Title: Crusade for Opportunity Records
Dates: 1966-1967
Quantity: 145 linear ft.
Abstract: Anti-poverty community action program in Syracuse, New York. Collection includes press releases, reports, correspondence, financial materials, newsletters, corporate office files, more.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Crusade for Opportunity was a government-funded anti-poverty program in Syracuse, New York. Its forerunner was Syracuse University's Community Action Training Center (CATC). Its focus was on education and economic empowerment, particularly for members of Syracuse's black community. According to Salt City and its Black Community: A Sociological Study of Syracuse (Syracuse University Press, 2008), the CATC and Crusade for Opportunity "had very limited success, mainly because of the policies and strategies employed by the federal government...In the end, poor blacks' expectations were raised, but no outlets were provided to meet those expectations."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Crusade for Opportunity Records include press releases, reports, correspondence, financial materials, newsletters, corporate office files, and more.


Arrangement of the Collection

CLOSED FOR PROCESSING until approximately summer 2018. No researcher access.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Syracuse Community Development Association Records.

The adult education collections at Special Collections Research Center are collectively known as the Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults. Please see the Charters Library home page for more information.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Crusade for Opportunity (Syracuse, N.Y.)

Subjects

Economic assistance, Domestic -- United States.
Poor -- United States.
Poverty -- New York (State)

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Corporation records.
Correspondence.
Financial records.
Reports.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Crusade for Opportunity Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1966-1969, 2000.


Table of Contents


Inventory

CLOSED
RESTRICTED: CLOSED FOR PROCESSING until approximately summer 2018. No researcher access.