Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Daniel Crosby Account Book

A description of his account book at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 24 Feb 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Crosby, Daniel.
Title: Daniel Crosby Account Book
Dates: 1833-1842
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Account book kept by Massachusetts shoemaker, Daniel Crosby.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Daniel Crosby was a nineteenth-century shoemaker who lived in the region of Greenfield and Charlemont, Massachusetts. He may be the same man as the Daniel Crosby recorded in the Vital Records of Greenfield, Massachusetts, who married Fanny Gates on 23 Nov 1830. The 1860 census also has a record for a Daniel Crosby (b. 1801) who lived in Greenfield with his wife Fanny (b. 1800) and his three children Mary (b. 1835), Daniel W. (b. 1837), and James (b. 1839).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Daniel Crosby Account Book is a record of financial transactions kept by a nineteenth-century Massachusetts shoemaker. The account book contains names of customers, lists of items or services purchased, prices, and dates of payment. Most of the entries are related to either making or repairing shoes, but there are also sporadic entries for odd-jobs Crosby occasionally performed.

One of the back pages of the book also contains a rough draft of a poem Crosby appears to have been composing.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center holds financial records from other shoemakers in the Abel Andrews Account Book and the Dun and Bradstreet, Inc. Collection of Small Business Ledgers


Subject Headings

Persons

Crosby, Daniel.

Subjects

Shoemakers -- Massachusetts.

Places

Charlemont (Mass.) -- History.
Greenfield (Mass.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Account books.

Occupations

Shoemakers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Daniel Crosby Account Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1969.


Table of Contents

Account Books


Inventory

Account Books
SC 397 1833-1842