Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John Wilson Croker Correspondence

A description of his correspondence at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 24 Feb 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Croker, John Wilson, 1780-1857.
Title: John Wilson Croker Correspondence
Dates: 1810-1855
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Incoming and outgoing correspondence of the Irish politician and author, mostly on personal and financial topics.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Wilson Croker (1780-1857) was an Irish politician, literary critic, and author. He was educated at Trinity College, Dublin and Lincoln's Inn, London, becoming an Irish attorney 1802. He soon became well-known for his satirical and political writing, and was elected MP of Downpatrick in 1807. He had a successful political career as Secretary to the Admiralty from 1809-1830, but retired from politics in 1832 due to his opposition to the Reform Bill. In 1809 he helped found the Quarterly Review and he contributed many articles to the publication.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Wilson Croker Correspondence contains approximately 50 outgoing and incoming letters of Croker, spanning 1810 to 1855 (bulk, 1850-1855). The collection includes mainly personal and financial correspondence. Topics discussed include Croker's financial activities, his intellectual and literary interests, and legal issues related to his position as executor of the estate of his friend, Francis Seymour-Conway, 3rd Marquess of Hertford.


Arrangement of the Collection

The items are arranged in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Croker, John Wilson, 1780-1857.

Associated Titles

Quarterly review (London, England).

Subjects

Politicians -- Great Britain -- Correspondence.

Places

West Molesey (England) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.
Critics.
Politicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Wilson Croker Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1963.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 396 1810-1855, undated