Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Arthur Crisp Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 19 Mar 2010

Revision history:
Sep 2017 processed (PRB)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Crisp, Arthur, 1881-1974.
Title: Arthur Crisp Papers
Dates: 1952-1963
Quantity: 3.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Artwork: original and reproductions, writings and memorabilia of the Canadian-American painter.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Arthur Crisp (1881-1974) was a Canadian-born American painter known for his murals, portraits, and decorative and genre paintings.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Arthur Crisp Papers include Artwork original consisting primarily of sketches for his murals, Artwork reproductions, consisting of photographs and published pictures of his completed work, Writings, including the manuscript of an unpublished autobiography, copies of a newsletter he wrote as well as some essays and Memorabilia consisting of exhibition catalogs, photographs and a National Academy of Design award.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged by type and alphabetically where titles are known.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Crisp, Arthur, 1881-1974.

Subjects

Mural painting and decoration -- 20th century.
Painters -- United States -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Essays.
Exhibition catalogs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Newsletters.
Photographs.
Sketches.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Arthur Crisp Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Arthur Crisp, 1964.


Table of Contents

Artwork, original

Artwork, reproductions

Writings

Memorabilia


Inventory

Artwork, original
Box 1 Sketch for mural Famous Aviators
Box 1 Sketch for mural Music Hall Schaeffer Center New York World's Fair
Box 1 Sketches for mural at Colony Theater Cleveland, Ohio
Box 1 Sketches for mural Treasure Island
Oversize 1 Sketches for mural at Belasco Theatre, New York
Oversize 1 Sketches cattle and wheat
Oversize 1 Sketches for mural A Glass is Good
Oversize 1 Sketches for mural Here's to the Maidens
Oversize 1 Sketch for mural for Keinert Products
Oversize 1 Sketches Laugh and the World Laughs With You
Oversize 1 Sketches for mural at the Merry Go Round Bar and Grill
Map-Case 102 Sketch for Merrymakers Carnival
Oversize 1 Sketches for mural at Nelson House Tavern Poughkeepsie, New York
Oversize 1 Sketches for mural at Pennsylvania Railroad Station Newark, New Jersey
Oversize 1 Sketch for mural at R-K-O Roxy Theater New York
Oversize 1 Sketches of woman seated
Box 1 Sketches for murals miscellaneous
Artwork, reproductions
Box 1 Blue jacket
Box 1 Bronx historical events
Box 1 Canadian Bank of Commerce
Box 1 Canadian House of Parliament
Box 1 Carbonated beverages
Box 1 Criminal Court Building New York
Box 1 Diana of the white horse
Oversize 1 Let the toast pass
Box 1 Map of Pleasure Island or The Bootlegger's Paradise collaboration with Edward Clegg
Box 1 Musicians and dancers
Box 1 New York State Library
Box 1 Ohio State House
Box 1 Orpheus and Eurydice
Box 1 Raising Cain
Box 1 Robert Treat Hotel Newark, New Jersey
Box 1 Roosevelt Hotel Ballroom murals
Oversize 1 Sing a song of sixpence
Box 1 The Sisters
Oversize 1 Tapestries
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous
Writings
Box 1 Autobiography For the Life of Me
Essays
Box 1 Applesauce
Box 1 Christopher and Growler
Box 1 To maidens in distresss
Box 1 Newsletter Granite Point Gazette
Memorabilia
Box 1 Art Gallery of Hamilton Arthur and Mary Ellen Crisp Retrospective Exhibition
Box 1 National Academy of Design Certificate of Merit
Box 1 Photographic portraits
Box 1 Photographs of Arthur Crisp at work