Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE) Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: --
Date: 1986?



Biographical History

The Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE) was established in 1959 as a division of what is now the American Association of Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE). CPAE’s purposes are to support graduate professional adult education, to increase the relevance and quality of dissertations in the field, and to encourage and support professional adult education research.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE) Records contains material specific to the Commission and also material from other organizations in the adult education field. The collection is divided into four series. Organizational records includes correspondence, financial and legal papers, meetings documentation, membership files, reports, task force and committee papers, and printed material. Subject files comprises material on various other organizations and institutions, ranging from the African Adult Education Association to Wayne State University. Printed material (divided into General and Regional) contains studies, reports, brochures, directories, and other similar material. Audiovisual material contains a film, several trays of slides from conferences and workshops (one in China), 100 cassette tapes from the 1980 National Adult Education Conference, and a number of reel-to-reel tapes of interviews with deans and directors of 20 different adult education programs, both traditional and alternative.

Several well-known adult educators are strongly represented in both Correspondence and Printed material: Robert A. Carlson, Mary Jane Even, William Griffith, Cyril Houle, Ray Ingham, Malcolm S. Knowles, Alan Boyd Knox, Howard McClusky, Wayne Schroeder, and Wilson B. Thiede.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically and is not sorted by correspondent. Subject files are arranged alphabetically. Printed material is further divided into General, arranged alphabetically by publication title, and Regional, arranged alphabetically by name of region. Audiovisual (AV) material -- cassette tapes, reel-to-reel tapes, and computer disks -- has been placed together in one box; AV items that have a logical location in the collection structure are listed there as well as under Audiovisual material. For example, the audiotape of the 1999 CPAE business meeting is listed under Audiovisual material > Tapes > CPAE business meeting 1999 and also under Organizational Records > Meetings > Business > Tape of business meeting, 1999.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of all adult education collections.


Subject Headings

Persons

Griffith, William S.
Carlson, Robert A.
Even, Mary Jane.
Houle, Cyril Orvin, 1913-
Ingham, Roy John, 1925-
Knowles, Malcolm Shepherd, 1913-
Knox, Alan Boyd, 1931-
McClusky, Howard, 1900-1982.
Schroeder, Wayne.
Thiede, Wilson B.

Corporate Bodies

Adult Education Association.
American Association for Adult Education
American Association for Adult and Continuing Education.
Association of University Evening Colleges (U.S.)
Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults.
Commission of Professors of Adult Education -- Archives.
Commission of Professors of Adult Education -- Records and correspondence.
National Association for Public Continuing & Adult Education.
National University Extension Association.

Subjects

Adult education -- North America.
Adult education.

Genres and Forms

Agendas.
Annual reports.
Audiocassettes.
Correspondence.
Film reels.
Minutes (administrative records)
Newsletters.
Reports.
Slides (photographs)

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of the Commission of Professors of Adult Education, 1981-2006.


Table of Contents

Organizational records

Subject files (non-CPAE)

Printed material (non-CPAE)

Audiovisual material


Inventory