Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Palmer Cox Collection

A inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 7 Jan 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Palmer Cox Collection
Dates: 1893-1969
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Original artwork by Cox (sketch of brownie), inscribed to Olive DeGolia; proofs for cover and article from 1969 issue of The Courier (SU library publication) about Cox and his creation of the mischievous creatures known as brownies. Also includes photographs of Olive DeGolia (of Syracuse, New York), age 4, for whom the sketch was done.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Palmer Cox (1840-1924) was a Canadian author and illustrator, best known for his invention of the mischievous creatures known as Brownies. Cox wrote and drew numerous verses, stories and cartoons about the Brownies. Olive DeGolia, then age 4, was a resident of Syracuse, New York.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Palmer Cox Collection contains original artwork by Cox (sketch of a brownie) inscribed to Olive DeGolia and several photographs of Olive, age 4. Also included are proofs for the cover and an article from a 1969 issue of the Syracuse Library publication The Courier, about Cox and his creation of the Brownies.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are in no particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Additional artwork by Palmer Cox may be found in the Howes Norris, Jr. Cartoon Autograph Collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Cox, Palmer, 1840-1924.
DeGolia, Olive.

Subjects

Elves -- Pictorial works.
Fairies -- Pictorial works.

Genres and Forms

Galley proofs.
Layouts (printed matter)
Photographs.
Sketches.

Occupations

Cartoonists.
Illustrators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Palmer Cox Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Sketch and photograph reproductions, gift of Olive DeGolia, 1968 or 1969. Courier items transfer from Mayfield.


Table of Contents

Miscellany


Inventory

Miscellany
SC 366 Photographs, proofs, original artwork 1893, 1896, 1969