Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Charles Cowley Letters

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: 1971

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Cowley, Charles, 1832-1908.
Title: Charles Cowley Letters
Dates: 1893-1906
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters of the U.S. naval officer and lawyer, all incoming, relating to naval veterans' affairs and organizations.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Cowley (1832-1908) was an American naval officer and attorney from Massachusetts. During the American Civil War he was on Admiral John A. Dahlgren's staff and served as Judge Advocate, South Atlantic Blockading Squadron; in 1879 he published a personal history of that group's achievements and experiences during the war, entitled Leaves from a Lawyer's Life Afloat and Ashore. In the introduction, he writes, "Without concealing my predilection for the Cause of the Union, I have sought to treat the Lost Cause with entire candor." He also wrote on the subject of divorce and divorce courts, and was active in naval veterans' organizations.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Cowley Letters consists of sixteen letters to Cowley from various persons, relating to naval veteran's organizations and affairs. A number of the letters are from Rear Admiral B. (Bradley) S. Osbon.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the John A. Dahlgren Collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Cowley, Charles, 1832-1908.
Osbon, Bradley Sillick, 1827-1912.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Navy. -- History -- 19th century.

Subjects


Places

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Veterans.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Armed Forces -- Officers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Cowley Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transferred from John A. Dahlgren Collection, 1971.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 552 Re naval veterans, various senders 1893/1906