Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Council of National Organizations Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: --
Date: circa 1970



Biographical History

The Council of National Organizations for Adult Education (CNO) was founded in 1952 as a subsidiary organization of the American Education Association of the USA, or AEA-USA (now the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education or AAACE). "to establish closer communication and exchange of experience between organizations and individuals working in different fields." Its primary function was to gather information on educational agencies for public use.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Council of National Organizations Records contains a single series, General files. Most of the material ison specific councils, organizations, associations, U.S. government departments, etc., and the folders contain either correspondence or printed information.


Arrangement of the Collection

The files remain in the order they were received, and are in neither alphabetical nor chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers and records of numerous organizations and individuals relating to adult education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. The interested researcher may also wish to refer to the Alexander Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults (http://scrc.syr.edu/charterslibrary).


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Council of National Organizations (U.S.) -- Archives.
Council of National Organizations (U.S.) -- Records and correspondence.

Subjects

Adult education -- Information services.
Adult education -- Societies, etc.
Adult education -- United States.
Education -- Information services.
Education -- Societies, etc.
Education -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Minutes (administrative records)
Newsletters.

Occupations

Adult education.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Council of National Organizations Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

General files


Inventory