Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Council of Europe Adult Education Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 19 Mar 2009

Biographical History

"Founded in 1949, the Council of Europe seeks to develop throughout Europe common and democratic principles based on the European Convention on Human Rights and other reference texts on the protection of individuals."
[from the Council's website,]

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Council of Europe Adult Education Collection consists of reports from several different Council committees relating to adult and continuing education.

Arrangement of the Collection

Reports are arranged in alphabetical order by title.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections of both individuals and organizations, relating to adult education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. The library's circulating collection also has substantial adult education holdings; please refer to the Classic Catalog for a complete listing of cataloged items.

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Council of Europe. Committee for Higher Education and Research
Council of Europe. Committee for Out-of-School Education and Cultural Development.
Council of Europe. Committee for Out-of-School Education.
Council of Europe. Council for Cultural Co-operation.


Adult education -- Audio-visual aids.
Adult education -- Research.
Adult education -- Study and teaching.
Degrees, Academic -- Research.
Occupational training -- Europe.
Television in education.
Vocational training -- Europe.

Genres and Forms



Adult educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Council of Europe Adult Education Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from circulating collection.

Table of Contents