Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Gregory Corso Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Jul 1987

Revision history:
17 Sep 2008 converted to EAD (LDC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Corso, Gregory.
Title: Gregory Corso Collection
Dates: 1961
Quantity: 4 items (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the American poet. Two outgoing items of correspondence; an undated notebook containing poetry and drawings; and the manuscript of Corso's book, Long Live Man.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Gregory Corso (1929–2001) was an American poet, the youngest of a group popularly known as the "Beat Generation" writers, in company with Jack Kerouac, Allen Ginsberg, and William Burroughs.

Corso was also the first of the group to be published ("The Vestal Lady on Brattle" and other poems, in 1952). Writer Ted Morgan said of them, "If Ginsberg, Kerouac, and Burroughs were the Three Musketeers of the movement, Corso was their D'Artagnan."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gregory Corso Collection consists of two items of outgoing correspondence, the manuscript for Corso's book Long Live Man, and a notebook containing poems and miscellaneous notes.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Corso, Gregory.
Meltzer, David.

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
Bohemianism, United States.
Literature, Experimental.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Notebooks.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gregory Corso Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Writings


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 21 Bean, Marshall undated (1 letter)
SC 21 Meltzer, David 1961 (1 letter)
Writings
SC 21 Long Live Man - typescript as sent to printer with holograph notations
SC 21 Notebook undated - cover has pencil notation, "Long Live Man"