Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Benjamin Copeland Scrapbook

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: Jan 1967

Revision history:
4 May 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Copeland, Benjamin.
Title: Benjamin Copeland Scrapbook
Dates: 1836-1940
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Methodist minister and poet from Buffalo, N.Y. Scrapbook of manuscript poems, incoming letters, and clippings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Dr. Benjamin Copeland (1854-1940) was a Methodist minister in Buffalo, New York. He founded three Methodist churches in that city and was the author of four volumes of poetry.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Benjamin Copeland Scrapbook consists of a single scrapbook of corerspondence, clippings, and manuscripts of poems.


Arrangement of the Collection

One volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has many collections related to church and clergy -- particularly the Methodist Church -- in New York state. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Copeland, Benjamin.

Subjects

American poetry.
Clergy -- United States.
Clergy as authors.
Methodist Church -- Clergy.
Methodists -- New York (State), Buffalo.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Poems.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Clergy.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Benjamin Copeland Scrapbook
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1966.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
Scrapbook 1836-1940 - corerspondence, clippings, and manuscripts of poems