Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Joseph Conrad Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Dec 1996

Revision history:
11 May 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Conrad, Joseph, 1857-1924.
Title: Joseph Conrad Collection
Dates: 1898-1924
Quantity: 3 folders (SC)
Abstract: British author. Seven letters, two manuscripts, and a photograph.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Joseph Conrad (1857-1924) was a Polish-born British novelist. Among his important works are The Nigger of the 'Narcissus' (1897), Heart of Darkness (1899), and Lord Jim (1900).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Joseph Conrad Collection contains seven letters by the British author, the original signed typescript for "Autocracy and War," and a photograph of Conrad at Oswalds, Bishopsbourne, Kent.


Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Jessie Conrad Collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Conrad, Joseph, 1857-1924 -- Autocracy and war.
Conrad, Joseph, 1857-1924.

Subjects

Authors, English.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Joseph Conrad Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

"Autocracy and War" manuscript, gift of William Tolley.

Other items, transfer from Rare Books.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Manuscripts

Photographs


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 134 Various 1898, 1909, 1911, 1915-1916, 1920 - recipients are T. Fisher Unwin, Sir Sidney Colvin, Edward Thomas, Captain John Sutherland; remaining three are unidentified
Manuscripts
SC 134 "Autocracy and War" - original 45p typescript, signed, with pencil corrections; includes the July 1905 issue of The North American Review, in which the essay was published
SC 134 "Some reminiscences" - photocopy of original manuscript page, the enclosure for leter of 6 May 1909
Photographs
SC 134 "Josef Teodor Konrad Korzeniowski and a Polish cousin, Oswalds, Bishopsbourne" 1924