Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Colton, New York, Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 31 Jan 2014

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Colton, New York, Collection
Dates: 1844-1861 (bulk: 1849)
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Poll lists, oaths of office, etc. relating to the town of Colton, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Colton, New York is the largest town in St. Lawrence County in northeastern New York State. Founded around 1843 as Matildaville, the town is named after early settler Jesse Colton Higley. The population was 1,451 at the 2010 census.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Colton, New York, Collection consists of assorted manuscript material related to voting and town government officeholders. It includes poll lists, voter lists, oaths of office, etc.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Voting -- New York (State) -- Colton.

Places

Colton (N.Y.) -- History.
New York (State) -- Officials and employees.

Genres and Forms

Legal documents.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Colton, New York, Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2014.


Table of Contents

Legal documents


Inventory

Legal documents
SC 703 Miscellaneous 1844, 1849, 1861