Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Horatio Colony Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: Apr 1967

Revision history:
9 Apr 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Colony, Horatio, 1900-
Title: Horatio Colony Papers
Dates: 1920-1964
Quantity: 9 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American poet, novelist. Correspondence, book manuscripts and galley proofs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Horatio Colony (1900-1977) was an American poet and novelist. Born in Keene, New Hampshire, into a family of mill-owners (and grandson of Keene's first mayor), he attended Philips Exeter Academy and Harvard College. He wrote his first play, William Penn's Peace Treaty with the Indians, in seventh grade and his first novel, Free Forester, was published in 1935. He also kept a diary for most of his life, beginning about 1913. His first published poetry volumes, A Brook of Leaves and Birth and Burial, were collections of lyrics, whereas his next three are in the style which might best be described as lyrical narrative. Over his career he published eleven volumes of verse as well as a two-volume set of collected writings.

His house in the town of Keene is today a historical site, the Horatio Colony Museum, and the nearby Horatio Colony Nature Preserve is a direct result of Colony's desire to preserve family land as a wildlife sanctuary.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Horatio Colony Papers consists of manuscripts and published material.

Manuscripts contains a handscript copy of Colony's novel, Free Forester, and handscript, typescript and galley proofs of his poetry books.

Published material includes autographed copies of the following volumes by Mr. Colony: A Book of Leaves, Bacchus and Krishna, Free Forester, The Flying Ones and Young Malatesta.


Arrangement of the Collection

Both series are arranged alphabetically by title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Colony, Horatio, 1900- -- Archives.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
American poetry -- 20th century.
Novelists, American.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Poems.

Occupations

Novelists.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Horatio Colony Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Manuscripts

Published material


Inventory

Manuscripts
Books
Box 1 Free Forester - chapters I - XIV (14 folders)
Box 2 Free Forester - chapters XV-XXII, and incomplete typescript (9 folders)
Poetry
Box 2 "Bacchus and Krishna"
Box 2 "Bacchus and Krishna" - typescript
Box 2 "The Flying Ones" - corrected typescript
Box 2 "The Flying Ones" - galley proof
Box 2 "Young Malatesta" - author-corrected typescript
Published material
Books
Box 2 A Brook of Leaves (Poetry) 1935
Box 2 Bacchus and Krishna (Poetry) 1952
Box 2 Free Forester (Novel) 1935
Box 2 The Flying Ones (Poetry) 1964
Box 2 Young Malatesta (Poetry) 1957