Collection inventory


Finding Aids

W. Arthur Cole Letters

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 18 Aug 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Cole, W. Arthur (William Arthur), b. 1887.
Title: W. Arthur Cole Letters
Dates: 1914-1940
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters to W. Arthur Cole, relating to printing and publishing in the United States and to the American Institute of Graphic Arts (AIGA).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

W. Arthur Cole (1887- ) was vice president and production manager of an advertising agency and wrote on various aspects of fine printing.. He was elected president of the American Institute of Graphic Arts (AIGA) in 1926,


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The W. Arthur Cole Letters contain four sets of letters between Cole and five other printers and graphic artists. The five correspondents are Henry L. Bullen, Librarian for the Typographic Library and Museum of the American Type Founders Company; Earnest Elmo Calkins, head of Calkins and Holden advertising agency; T.M. Cleland, book designer, painter, illustrator, and type designer; Burton Emmett, advertising man and print collector; and Richard J. Walsh, author and publisher.

Included with the Walsh correspondence is the November 1926 issue of International Conciliation, a pacifist periodical published by the Carnegie Endowment for International Piece. It contains a story by Walsh entitled "When the Earth Trembled."


Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are separated by correspondent and then arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to publishing, printing and book arts. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Bullen, Henry Lewis, 1857-1938.
Calkins, Earnest Elmo, 1868-1964.
Cleland, T. M. (Thomas Maitland), 1880-1964.
Cole, W. Arthur (William Arthur), b. 1887.
Emmett, Burton, 1871-1935.
Walsh, Richard J. (Richard John), 1886-1960.

Corporate Bodies

American Institute of Graphic Arts.

Associated Titles

Internation conciliation No. 224 Nov. 1926.

Subjects

Graphic design (Typography) -- United States.
Printing -- United States -- History.
Publishers and publishing -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Periodicals.

Occupations

Authors.
Publishers and publishing.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

W. Arthur Cole Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1969, 1981.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 563 Bullen, Henry L. 1926
SC 563 Calkins, Earnest Elmo 1914, 1926-1927, 1939-1940
SC 563 Cleland, T.M. 1926
SC 563 Emmett, Burton 1926-1931
SC 563 Walsh, Richard J. 1926