Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Colcord, Philbrick & Company Account Book

A description of its account book at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 17 Feb 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Colcord, Philbrick & Company.
Title: Colcord, Philbrick & Company Account Book
Dates: 1847-1852
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Account book of Colcord, Philbrick & Co., a pharmacy and chemist in Great Falls, New Hampshire.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Colcord, Philbrick & Co. was a pharmacy and chemist in Great Falls, New Hampshire (now called Somersworth) during the mid-nineteenth century. It was connected to Colcord, Philbrick & Co. (later called Philbrick & Trafton) of Boston, founded by Samuel Runnels Philbrick and Samuel M. Colcord.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Colcord, Philbrick & Company Account Book contains a 240+ page ledger from Great Falls, New Hampshire (now Somersworth) covering the years 1847 to 1852. The book contains names of customers (many of them physicians), lists of items purchased, prices, and dates.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Colcord, Philbrick & Company.

Subjects

Pharmacists -- New Hampshire -- Somersworth.
Physicians -- New Hampshire -- Somersworth.

Places

Somersworth (N.H.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Account books.

Occupations

Pharmacists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Colcord, Philbrick & Company Account Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1968.


Table of Contents

Account Books


Inventory

Account Books
SC 390 1847-1852