Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Sydney Carlyle Cockerell Letters

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Dec 1996

Revision history:
13 May 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Cockerell, Sydney Carlyle, Sir, 1867-1962.
Title: Sydney Carlyle Cockerell Letters
Dates: 1946-1958
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Three letters of the English book collector and museum director. Two are to John S. Mayfield of Syracuse University.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Sydney Carlyle Cockerell (1867-1962) was an English book collector and an authority on illuminated manuscripts. Active in literary circles, he was private secretary to William Morris (thereby becoming a major collector of Kelmscott Press books) and was Thomas Hardy's executor. For thirty years (1908-1937) he was Director of the Fitzwilliam Museum in Cambridge.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Sydney Carlyle Cockerell Letters consists of three letters of the English book collector and museum director. Two are to John S. Mayfield of Syracuse University. The third is to an unknown person, C----blatt. The 1946 letter includes a note on William Morris' aims in founding the Kelmscott Press.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Cockerell, Sydney Carlyle, Sir, 1867-1962.
Morris, William, 1834-1896.

Corporate Bodies

Kelmscott Press.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Book collectors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Sydney Carlyle Cockerell Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

1946 letter, gift of George and Lena Arents, 1973.

Other letters, gift of John S. Mayfield.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 142 "Dear C---blatt" 31 Dec 1946
SC 142 Mayfield, John S. 30 May 1958; 20 Jun 1958