Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Irvin S. Cobb Letter

A description of his letter at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 8 Feb 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Cobb, Irvin S. (Irvin Shrewsbury), 1876-1944.
Title: Irvin S. Cobb Letter
Dates: 1928
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Handwritten letter from author Irvin S. Cobb to Mrs. Frederick Fuhrer, informing her that he is not accepting speaking engagements.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Irvin S. Cobb (1876-1944) was an American author and humorist. He was best known for his humorous stories of Kentucky life, such as in his book Old Judge Priest.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Irvin S. Cobb Letter consists of a letter written by Cobb to Mrs. Frederick Fuhrer, dated 8 Feb 1928. In the letter, Cobb informs Mrs. Fuhrer that he is not accepting speaking engagements currently, and he will be unable to come to Gloversville, New York to give a lecture as she requested.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Fred C. Kelly Papers, which contain further correspondence by Cobb.


Subject Headings

Persons

Cobb, Irvin S. (Irvin Shrewsbury), 1876-1944.
Fuhrer, Mrs. Frederick.

Subjects

Authors, American -- 20th century.

Places

Gloversville (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Irvin S. Cobb Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Frederick Fuhrer, 1962.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 381 1928