Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Charles P. Clinch Letter

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Clinch, Charles P. (Charles Powell), 1797-1880.
Title: Charles P. Clinch Letter
Dates: 1848
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Assistant Collector of the Port of New York for 38 years. One letter, to Cornelius Van Wyck Lawrence, Collector of the Port.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles P. Clinch (1797-1880) was an American politician and government official. He was elected to the New York legislature three times (1834, 1835, 1836), and was editor of the Aurora, an early New York newspaper. He joined the Customs House of the Port of New York as Inspector of Customs in 1837, and remained there in various capacities until 1876. The position of Assistant Collector of the Port of New York was created for him.

In his obituary in the New York Times, he was described as a man of great integrity, "possessing more knowledge on the subject of American Customs, revenue, and navigation laws than any other living man, and his judgment was always trusted implicitly." He was also the author of three plays and an amateur actor.

Cornelius Van Wyck Lawrence was a New York politician, and served as Collector of the Port of New York from 1845-1849.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles P. Clinch Letter consists of a single item, a letter from Clinch to his immediate superior, Collector of the Port of New York Cornelius Van Wyck Lawrence (spelled "Laurence" in the letter). The letter concerns customs business and includes praise for the work of one Mr. Goldson, a clerk of the Customs.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Clinch, Charles P. (Charles Powell), 1797-1880.
Lawrence, Cornelius Van Wyck, 1791-1861.

Corporate Bodies

U.S. Customs Service -- Officials and employees.

Subjects

Customs administration -- United States.

Places

New York (N.Y.) -- Harbor.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles P. Clinch Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Kohen Collection, 1968.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 575 to Lawrence, Cornelius Van Wyck 1848