Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Hal Clement Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01

Revision history:
11 Oct 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)
15 Jul 2014 processed, additions incorporated (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Clement, Hal, 1922-2003
Title: Hal Clement Papers
Dates: 1939-2001
Quantity: 6 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American author, science fiction short story writer and novelist. Includes artwork, correspondence, typescript drafts, revisions, and manuscripts of articles, novels, short stories, and speeches.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Harry Clement Stubbs (1922-2003), better known as Hal Clement, was an award-winning American science fiction author, writing primarily "hard" science fiction short stories and novels. He also painted under the name George Richard.

Born May 30, 1922 in Somerville, Massachusettes, Clement graduated from Harvard University in 1943 with a B.S. in astronomy, having published his first short story the year before, and from Boston University in 1947 with an M.A. in Education. Clement served with the 8th Air Force in World War II and flew 35 combat missions over Europe; after the war, he served in the United States Air Force Reserve and eventually retired with the rank of colonel. He taught chemistry and astronomy for many years at Milton Academy in Milton, Massachusetts. He and his wife Mary Elizabeth had three children.

Clement was named a Grand Master by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) in 1998, and in 1996 he retroactively received a 1946 Hugo Award for his short story "Uncommon Sense." The Hal Clement Award for Young Adults for Excellence in Children's Science Fiction Literature is presented in his memory each year at the World Science Fiction Convention (better known as Worldcon).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Hal Clement Papers consists of artwork, correspondence, memorabilia, printed material and writings.

Artwork consists of a number of paintings of stars, planets, and other astronomical subject matter, ranging from large canvases to small matted pieces.

Correspondence contains letters from family, friends and colleagues. Of particular interest are two letters from editor John W. Campbell, in which he discusses challenges facing genre authors and the author/editor relationahips; a letter from Isaac Asimov, whose tone suggests they were good friends; and a letter from L. Sprague De Camp in which he talks about his current projects including a Conan novel.

Memorabilia includes, among other things, items from Clement's time in the military in Washington, DC and Albuquerque, New Mexico; awards from science fiction fans and conventions; a number of photographs and slides (most of which are unidentified); and an engagement calendar from 1956.

Printed material consists of clippings about Clement and others, and assorted maps and National Forest Service publications.

Writings contains drafts of both fiction and non-fiction, including novels, short stories, book reviews, and speeches. In a few cases there are notes, calculations, sketches and so on relating to a given project. Many of the drafts show annotations, corrections and edits.


Arrangement of the Collection

Generally alphabetical by type or title; within correspondence, items within each folder are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: 35mm roll in Oversize 3 is fragile, do not unroll. Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Edition of Ice World and three-volume set, The Essential Hal Clement, have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of science fiction and fantasy authors as well as an extensive collection of early science fiction and fantasy magazines and 'zines and a large book collection. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of manuscript collections; for more information on the magazines, 'zines, and books please contact the repository listed above.


Subject Headings

Persons

Asimov, Isaac, 1920-1992.
Campbell, John W., Jr. (John Wood), 1910-1971.
Clement, Hal, 1922-2003.
De Camp, L. Sprague (Lyon Sprague), 1907-2000.
Simak, Clifford D., 1904-1988.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Novelists, American.
Science fiction, American.

Genres and Forms

16mm.
35mm.
8mm (size: photographic film)
Color transparencies.
Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Filmstrips.
Manuscripts for publication.
Negatives.
Paintings.
Photographs.
Speeches.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Hal Clement Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Correspondence from James Pawlak and all writings (except for four folders, identified in the collection), gift of Harry C. Stubbs, 1968, 1970.

All other material purchased, 2013. Dealer stated the material was acquired at an estate auction after the death of Mary Stubbs, Hal's widow.


Table of Contents

Artwork

Correspondence

Memorabilia

Printed material

Writings


Inventory

Artwork
Oversize 1 Paintings undated - 2 large canvases and a smaller canvas panel (3 items)
Oversize 2 Paintings undated - one small canvas panel, 2 matted pieces (3 items)
Map-Case 133 Paintings undated - matted pieces (3 items)
Correspondence
Box 1 Asimov, Isaac 1952
Box 1 Bernstein, Gary 1966-1967
Box 1 Boskone XXIX 1992 - includes list of paintings submitted to art show
Box 1 Campbell, John W. 1951-1952
Box 1 Churches 1951-1952 - in Cambridge, Boston, and Washington, D.C.
Box 1 De Camp, L. Sprague 1952
Box 1 Friese, Dana L. (Vulcanian Enterprises) 1967 - includes list of stars mentioned in Star Trek
Box 1 Knight, Francis H. P. 1951-1952
Box 1 MarCon undated - includes list of paintings submitted to art show
Box 1 Simak, Clifford 1969 - on letterhead of Minneapolis Tribune
Box 1 Galaxy 1965-1966 - includes black and white photocopies of cover illustration by Clement
Box 1 Hubbard, W. R. ("Niffie") 1952
Box 1 Stubbs, H--- (father) 1952
Box 1 Stubbs, Mary (wife) 1952, undated
Box 1 Tropicon X, XI 1992-1993 - includes list of paintings submitted to art show, blue ribbon for "Astronomical Original"
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1950, 1952, 1967-1968
Memorabilia
Box 1 Army Air Force 1943-1944 - programs from Harvard Valedictory Service for student leaving to enter the armed forces; program from graduation exercises for Basic-Advance Flying School
Oversize 3 Award, BaltiCon 35 2001 - guest of honor plaque, stamped leather on wood
Oversize 3 Award, Invisible Little Man 1962 - presented by The Elves, Gnomes and Little Men's Science Fiction, Chowder and Marching Society; 2 cast footprints mounted on wooden block
Oversize 3 Award, RiverCon XXIII 1998 - Toastmaster award, glass horse mounted on wooden base
Box 1 Boston University commencement 1947 - Clement appears on p. 21 (as Harry Clement Stubbs) as receiving an M.A. in Education
Box 1 Calendar 1956
Box 1 Children's Science Book Awards 1975-1986 - certificates of appreciation for serving as judge, 4th through 15th (2 folders)
Box 1 Filmstrips for Luxview projector 1950s - four short 16mm[?] filmstrips, ranging from 15 to 18 frames, copyright North American Intrument Co.; title frames identify them as "First Christmas," "City Mouse and Country Mouse," "3 Clowns and [picture of red nose]" and "Greetje Visits Her Grandma"
Box 1 Military 1950-1953, undated - most items from Sandia Base in Albuquerque, New Mexico, others from Andrews and Bolling Air Force Bases in Washington, D.C.; items include dog tag, list of Sandia personnel, Officers Mess schedules, B-52 information, "aural null procedures," etc.
Box 2 New Mexico 1952 - general information relating to the state and particularly Albuquerque; maps, tourist information, receipts from moving, bank statements, etc.
Oversize 3 Photographs undated - personal photographs of Clement and unidentified others; formats include color and black and white prints, safety negatives, small aluminum tube containing 16mm and 35mm rolls of color transparencies, 2 small boxes of Kodachrome slides and a number of loose slides
RESTRICTED: 35mm roll is fragile, do not unroll.
Box 2 Miscellaneous 1939, 1947, 1950-1951, undated - Boy Scout card, program from graduation exercises for Ridge Technical School, President's Report from Harvard, etc.
Oversize 3 Miscellaneous undated - Boy Scout necktie, fountain pen, ruler, magnifying lens, camera adapter, assorted other small items
Printed material
Box 2 Clippings about Clement 1943, 1952 - biographical essay by Anthony More in Science-Fiction Advertiser; clipping with photo of Clement receiving Air Medal
Box 2 Clippings about others 1952 - review of Arthur C. Clarke's The Exploration of Space from New York Times Book Review
Box 2 Miscellaneous undated - maps, catalogs, National Forest Service publications, etc.
Writings
Articles
Box 2 An effort of logic 1967 - drafts A, B (2 folders)
Box 2 How blue is an x-ray? undated - drafts A, B (2 folders)
Box 2 The one you can never do twice 1970 - drafts A and B (2 folders)
Box 2 Working up a sweat 1970 - drafts A and B (2 folders)
Box 2 You have to care how much 1970 - drafts A and B (2 folders)
Books, Fiction
Box 2 Close to critical undated - draft 1
Box 2 Cycle of fire undated - first draft
Box 2 First flights to the moon (anthology, edited by Clement) 1969 - draft A (2 folders)
Box 3 First flights to the moon (anthology, edited by Clement) 1969 - draft B (2 folders)
Box 3 Ice world undated - typescript, unidentified
Box 3 Mission of gravity undated - notes; draft A (2 folders)
Box 3 Needle undated - drafts A and B (4 folders)
Box 4 Ocean on top (alternate title: No words for it) 1967 - drafts A and B (3 folders)
Box 4 Ranger boys in space undated - drafts A and B (3 folders)
Box 4 Star light 1969 - notes; drafts A, B and C (6 folders)
Box 5 Star light 1970 - draft D
Box 5 Notes, miscellaneous undated - royalty statement for Needles; page counts for 12 novels; graphs, calculations, sketches, etc.
Books, non-fiction
Box 5 [untitlted chapter for science textbook] undated
Book reviews
Box 5 "View on Science Books" column for Horn Book 1967-1969
Short stories
Box 5 Bulge undated - notes; drafts A and B (2 folders)
Box 5 Critical factor 1953 - drafts A, B and C (3 folders)
Box 5 Dust ray 1956 - drafts A and B (2 folders)
Box 5 The foundling stars (alternate title: Significant figure) 1965
Box 5 Mechanic undated
Box 5 Mistaken for granted undated - drafts A and B (2 folders)
Box 5 A question of guilt 1967 - drafts A and B
Box 5 Sun spot undated
Box 5 [untitled, with Sam Merwin] circa 1956
Box 5 [untitled, begins "I was a little late..."] undated
Box 5 [untitled, begins "Gentlemen!..."] undated
Speeches
Box 5 Characterizing an alien, for the Washington Science Fiction Association 1953
Box 5 Life spectra: Speculations on the physical and chemical nature of extraterrestrial life, for the AAAS 1961 - notes and graphs; ditto master