John Clapp Letters

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 15 Jul 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Clapp, John, fl. 1862.
Title: John Clapp Letters
Dates: 1862
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters of John Clapp of Binghamton, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known for certain of John Clapp other than that he was a resident of Binghamton, New York and probably an attorney in that town. If so, according to The Clapp Memorial (Ebenezer Clapp, 1876), he was "a lawyer of high standing, and a most estimable and accomplished gentleman."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Clapp Letters consists of two incoming items and one outgoing note.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Gerritt Smith? Check.


Subject Headings

Persons

Clapp, John, fl. 1862.

Places

Binghamton (NY) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Clapp Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2009.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 328 Miscellaneous 1862