Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Civil War Veterans Burial Log

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 13 Nov 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Civil War Veterans Burial Log
Dates: Undated
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Notebook recording names of Civil War veterans buried in cemeteries in and around Syracuse, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The author of this document is unknown. The following names appear on the inside of the front cover: "H. Bernard Levinson, 19 East Hall" and "F. Webster Doughty Chem. Dept. Colgate University".


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Civil War Veterans Burial Log consists of a single composition book containing handwritten entries for Civil War veterans buried in cemeteries in and around Syracuse, New York. The entries are organized by cemetery and the names are entered in alphabetical order. Most entries include the lot and section number; a few include company and rank. The following cemeteries are included:


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Oakwood Cemetery (Syracuse, N.Y.)

Subjects

Burial records.
Cemeteries -- New York (State)
Veterans -- New York (State)

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- History.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Veterans.

Genres and Forms

Research notes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Civil War Veterans Burial Log,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.


Table of Contents

Burial records


Inventory

Burial records
SC 767 Civil War Veterans, Syracuse cemeteries undated