Collection inventory


Finding Aids

City of Syracuse Purchases

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 14 Sep 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: City of Syracuse Purchases
Dates: 1862-1876
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Bills and invoices from various merchants to the City of Syracuse
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Syracuse is a city in, and the county seat of, Onondaga County, New York. As of 2015, it was the fourth most populous metropolitan city in the state of New York. The city was a major transportation hub beginning in the 1800s, first between the Erie Canal and its branch canals and then for the railway network. During the 18th and 19th centuries, its primary industries/employers included salt production, chemical manufacturing (Solvay Process, Allied Signal), automobile manufacturing (Franklin, Century), hand-crafted furniture (Gustav Stickley), and education (Geneva Medical College, LeMoyne, Syracuse University).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The City of Syracuse Purchases collection consists of bills and invoices from various merchants for goods and services provided to the city. Goods purchased include hardware (piping, locks, keys, hinges), gloves, office supplies, tack and harness, oil and kerosene, lampposts and fire hydrants. Services include stove and lamp repair, job printing, horse leasing, repairs to a snow "plough", and the installation of a fountain in Billings Park. There is also an invitation from Shawk & Barton of Cleveland to come and inspect "our system of Fire Alarm as is in use by the Cleveland Fire Department with a view to its adoption by the City of Syracuse."


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Government purchasing -- United States.
Merchants -- Syracuse (N.Y.)

Places

Syracuse (New York) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Billheads.
Invoices.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

City of Syracuse Purchases,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.


Table of Contents

Financial material


Inventory

Financial material
SC 759 Bills and invoices 1863-1876
SC 759 Bills and invoices undated