Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Minna Citron Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Nov 1992

Revision history:
2 Aug 2005 EAD file created (MRR)
26 Oct 2012 extent revised (MBD)
3 Oct 2013 additions (MRC)
2 Oct 2015 additions, M15-019 (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Citron, Minna, 1896-1991.
Title: Minna Citron Papers
Dates: 1932-2014
Quantity: 3.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, 1946-1965; typescript essays; exhibition catalogs, invitations, and posters; photographs of Minna Citron and her work; newspaper clippings; and publicity
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Minna Citron (1896-1991) was an American painter and printmaker.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Minna Citron Papers encompasses the correspondence, artwork, writings and memorabilia of the American painter and graphic artist (1896-1991). Although revealing little of her personal life, the collection documents Citron's artistic career from the 1930s through the mid-sixties.

Correspondence includes incoming and outgoing business letters, a few from the 1940s followed by a gap during the 1950s. Resuming in 1961 and continuing through 1965, the Correspondence focuses on Minna Citron's associations with art galleries (Ferdinand Roten Galleries, Inc., Aspen Art Gallery), educational institutions (Elmira College), museums (Whitney Museum of American Art, Roanoke Fine Arts Center), professional organizations (American Color Print Society, American Federation of Arts) and public libraries which sponsored her lectures or held exhibitions of her work.

Artwork includes an original etching for a bookplate, a partial inventory of Minna Citron's paintings and graphics, and black-and-white photographs of her work. Arranged by title, Writings feature manuscript essays and speeches as well as two articles, "Communication Between Spectator and Artist" (College Art Journal, Winter 1955), and: "The Uncharted Course" (Impression, Fall 1958).

Memorabilia contains awards, personal photographs, printed material, publicity, and reviews and comments about Minna Citron's work. Printed material includes clippings (1932-1965), exhibition catalogs (1930s-1960s) and posters for Minna Citron's one-woman and group shows.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type of material.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Aaron Bohrod Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Citron, Minna, 1896-1991.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Engravers -- United States.
Engraving -- United States -- 20th century.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century -- United States.
Printmakers -- United States.
Women artists -- United States.
Women painters -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Engravers.
Painters.
Printmakers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Minan Citron Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Minna Citron; estate of Minna Citron.

Additional exhibit catalogs, gift of Martha Paull, 2013.


Table of Contents

Artwork

Biographical material

Correspondence

Memorabilia

Writings


Inventory

Artwork
Box 1 Bookplate - bookplate of Louis N. Messing
Box 1 Inventory (partial) of Minna Citron's paintings, graphics
Box 1 Photographs
Biographical material
Box 1 Miscellaneous - biographical sketches, photocopy of obituary, invitation to memorial service/celebration of life
Correspondence
Box 1 Correspondence 1940s, 1961-1965 (3 folders)
Memorabilia
Box 1 Awards
Box 1 Photographs, personal
Printed material
Box 1 Clippings 1932-1965, 1977, 1985, undated (2 folders)
Box 1 Exhibition catalogs, one-woman shows 1930s-2010s (6 folders)
Box 1 Exhibition catalogs, group shows 1940s-1950s (2 folders)
Box 2 Exhibition catalogs, group shows 1960s (2 folders)
Box 2 Exhibition catalogs undated
Box 2 Exhibition catalogs, miscellaneous
Gift of Martha H. Paull, 2013.
Oversize 1 Exhibition posters (8)
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Box 1 Publicity
Box 1 Reviews, comments 1937, 1946, 1954
Writings
Box 1 Manuscripts of essays, speeches (by title) 1947, 1949, 1950, 1963, 1965, undated - typescripts
Box 1 Published articles 1955, 1958,