Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Winston Churchill Letters

An inventory of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 11 Sep 2008

Revision history:
16 Jul 2012 LCNAF updates (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Churchill, Winston, 1874-1965.
Title: Winston Churchill Letters
Dates: 1905
Quantity: 5 items (SC)
Abstract: The papers of the British statesman and author include four outgoing letters and 1 telegram to Frank Harris concerning a manuscript for publication.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Sir Winston Churchill was born November 30, 1874 to Lord and Lady Randolph Churchill. A Conservative member of the British Parliament since 1900, Churchill was appointed First Lord of the Admiralty at the outbreak of the Second World War. In May 1940, he became Prime Minister and Minister of Defense, where he served until 1945. Throughout his lifetime Churchill earned many honors including a Knighthood and the insignia of the Order of the Garter in 1953, honorary citizenship in the United States in 1963, and a state funeral upon his death on January 24, 1965.

In addition to his distinguished political career, Churchill was a renowned author. In 1953 he received the Nobel Prize in Literature in recognition of his many published works, such as his six volume set The Second World War. In 1905 Churchill began corresponding with author and editor Frank Harris regarding the biography Churchill was writing about his father. Churchill eventually granted Harris permission to begin negotiating with various publishers. The book, Lord Randolph Churchill, was published by Macmillan Publishers in 1906.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Winston Churchill Letters consists of four outgoing letters and 1 telegram sent to Frank Harris concerning a manuscript for publication.


Arrangement of the Collection

The correspondence is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Churchill, Winston, 1874-1965 -- Correspondence.
Harris, Frank, 1856-1931.

Subjects

Authors, English.
Statesmen -- Great Britain.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.
Statesmen.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Winston Churchill Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1963.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 232 02 Sep 1905 - Signed letter to Frank Harris (4 pages)
SC 232 17 October 1905 - Telegram to Frank Harris (1 page)
SC 232 06 Nov 1905 - Letter to Frank Harris (3 pages)
SC 232 15 Nov 1905 - Letter to Frank Harris (1 page)
SC 232 27 Nov 1905 - Letter to Frank Harris (4 pages)