Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Church Family Indentures

A description of their indentures at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 1 Feb 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Church family.
Title: Church Family Indentures
Dates: 1812-1816
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Two legal contacts recording land sales by the Church family of Hamilton, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Church family lived in Hamilton, New York in Madison County during the early nineteenth century. Family members include Richard Church, Uriah Church and Uriah's wife Sally Church.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Church Family Indentures contains two legal contracts recording land sales by the Churches. The first is dated 21 Nov 1812 and is between Richard Church and Uriah Church of Hamilton, New York. The land involved was a tract in Madison County in lot 54 along the west side of the "Unidilla" (Unadilla?) River. It was sold for $800. The indenture is signed by Samuel Payne and Ansel Lull? as witnesses. Samuel Payne also wrote a summary note on the back of the indenture where he describes himself as a "judge of Madison County." Possibly this is the same Samuel Payne who served as a New York State Assembly member for Chenango County in 1804-1806.

The second indenture is dated 3 Sep 1816 and records a transaction between Uriah and Sally Church ("his wife") and John Milne? of Sherburn, New York in Chenango County. The land involved was in Madison County, lot 54 near "Utica and Oxford Roads" and also near land owned by Silas Clark. It was sold for $1700. The document is signed by Path? King, identified on the back as "one of the judges of Madison County."


Arrangement of the Collection

The items are in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Church family.
Church, Richard.
Church, Sally.
Church, Uriah.

Subjects

Deeds -- New York (State) -- Madison County.

Places

Hamilton (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Indentures.
Legal documents.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Church Family Indentures,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Anonymous gift, 1982.


Table of Contents

Indentures


Inventory

Indentures
SC 378 1812, 1816