Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Chicago Repertory Group Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 26 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Chicago Repertory Group
Title: Chicago Repertory Group Collection
Dates: 1933-1943
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Advertisements, correspondence and original scripts from the social theater group
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Chicago Repertory Group was founded in 1934 as an outgrowth of the Chicago Workers Theater (active 1933-1934). A non-profit group, the CRG's goal was to create socially relevant productions affordable to the general public. Their works ranged from social dramas to Federal Theater plays to original skits and plays. The group became inactive after about 1943.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Chicago Repertory Group Collection consists primarily of scripts, though there are also two items of correspondence and two posters advertising "Black Pit" and "Waiting for Odets." The scripts appear to be original material or adaptations written by members of the group.


Arrangement of the Collection

Scripts are in alphabetical order by title; correspondence and advertisements are mostly undated so are in no particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Chicago Repertory Group Collection of Scripts and Scrapbooks at the University of Chicago.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Chicago Repertory Group.

Subjects

Radicalism in literature.
Repertory theater -- Illinois -- Chicago.
Theater -- Illinois -- Chicago.
Theater -- Political aspects.
Theater and society.

Places

Chicago (Ill.) -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Advertisements.
Correspondence.
Plays (document genre)
Posters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Chicago Repertory Group Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2010.


Table of Contents

Advertisements

Correspondence

Scripts


Inventory

Advertisements
SC 415 Miscellaneous - "Black Pit" and "Waiting for Odets"
Correspondence
SC 415 Miscellaneous 1935
Scripts
SC 415 A-Z and untitled
Air Raid (2 copies); The Final Settlement (Leo Lavender); For Auld Lang Slang; Land of the Free (Archibald Macleish); Krupovnik and the Union; Let Them Eat Cheese, the Rats! (William Wolff Heitler?); Life is a Bowl of Eugene O'Neills; Munich Conference; People in Rivers (Joseph Lawrence); The Price Committee (adapted by Sam Glassman, Robert Speer, and William Wolff); A Quiet Evening; Tillie the Toiler, or, Virtue Rewarded (William Titus); Who is Getting Excited? (Florence Lesser); untitled fragments