Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Joseph Chiari Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Jan 1967

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Chiari, Joseph.
Title: Joseph Chiari Papers
Dates: 1963
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: French author, poet, diplomat. Collection contains the manuscript of a poem about John F. Kennedy and a newspaper clipping with published poem.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Joseph Chiari (dates unknown) was a French poet, author and diplomat. Born in Corsica, he spent most of his life in England. He was a Docteur-es-Lettres, author of more than thirty books of literary criticism, philosophy and poetry, and taught at the universities of London and Manchester. He was a close friend of American poet T.S. Eliot for many years and wrote a biography of him.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Joseph Chiari Papers consist of the manuscript of a poem, "In Memoriam J. F. Kennedy," and a newspaper clipping from the Southern Evening Echo of the published poem.


Arrangement of the Collection

No order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Chiari, Joseph.
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963 -- Poetry.

Subjects

Poets, French -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Manuscripts (document genre)

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Joseph Chiari Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1964.


Table of Contents

Poems


Inventory

Poems
SC 573 "In Memoriam: John F.Kennedy" - manuscript; clipping of published poem