Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Phyllis Chesler Manuscript

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 28 Jul 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Chesler, Phyllis.
Title: Phyllis Chesler Manuscript
Dates: before 1977
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: American feminist, psychotherapist, professor. Collection contains a manuscript of Chesler's book, About Men
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Phyllis Chesler (1940- ) is an American writer, psychotherapist, and teacher. Known as a feminist psychologist, she is a co-founder of the Association for Women in Psychology and the author of numerous books, including Women and Madness, The Death of Feminism and The New Anti-Semitism. She taught psychology and women's studies for many years at Richmond College (later the College of Staten Island).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Phyllis Chesler Manuscript consists of one item, the typescript draft of Chesler's book About Men: A Psycho-Sexual Meditation.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Chesler, Phyllis -- About men.
Chesler, Phyllis.

Subjects

Fathers and sons.
Men -- Psychology.
Psychotherapists -- United States.
Sex role.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Psychotherapists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Phyllis Chesler Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Robert Seidenberg, 1980.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
Box 1 About Men before 1977 - typescript manuscript in large binder, includes photocopies of illustrations.