Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Thornton Chard Correspondence

An inventory of his correspondence at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DW
Date: 16 Jun 1979

Revision history:
18 Feb 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Chard, Thornton.
Title: Thornton Chard Correspondence
Dates: 1907-1916
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American architect. Chard's business correspondence (in 10 letter books) with clients.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Thornton Chard was an American architect. Much of his work is in New York City, including the Dave Hennen and Alice Morris House at 19 E. 70th (designated a landmark by the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission in 1974) and a police station at 156-158 Greenwich Street.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thornton Chard Papers consist of ten letterbooks containing correspondence of his architectural business from 1907-1916. Contracts mentioned include private homes, churches, and businesses.


Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are arranged chronologically in ten volumes.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many notable architects. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Chard, Thornton -- Correspondence.

Subjects

Architects -- United States.
Architectural practice -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Letter books.

Occupations

Architects.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thornton Chard Correspondence
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Volume I 1907-1909
Box 1 Volume II 1909
Box 1 Volume III 1909-1910
Box 1 Volume IV 1907-1910
Box 1 Volume V 1910-1911
Box 1 Volume VI 1911
Box 1 Volume VII 1911-1912
Box 1 Volume VIII 1914
Box 1 Volume IX 1915-1916
Box 1 Volume X 1916