Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Gertrude Esther Chapin Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Jan 1967

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Chapin, Gertrude Esther.
Title: Gertrude Esther Chapin Papers
Dates: before 1964
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Manuscripts of poems from the American poet and author.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Gertrude Esther Chapin (1881-?) was an American high school teacher, author and poet. Born in Macgregor, Iowa, she graduated from Carleton University (1904) and later received her M.A. from the University of Iowa (1917). She also studied at the University of Minnesota (1907), University of Chicago (1909-1910), and Coe College (1933 and 1949-1950). For nearly forty years, from 1919 to 1952, she taught high school English in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. She was a member of various literary societies, and her work appeared in numerous national magazines. She is the author of Prairie Songs (1953).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gertrude Esther Chapin Papers consists entirely of manuscripts of Chapin's poems.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Chapin, Gertrude Esther.

Subjects

Poets, American.
Women poets.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gertrude Esther Chapin Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Gertrude Esther Chapin, 1964.


Table of Contents

Manuscripts


Inventory

Manuscripts
SC 530 Poems