Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John Chamberlain Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MPK
Date: 28 Sep 1978

Revision history:
13 Jun 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Chamberlain, John, 1903-1995.
Title: John Chamberlain Papers
Dates: 1957-1967
Quantity: 13 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American author, journalist, syndicated columnist (King Features Syndicate). Includes correspondence (1963-1967); manuscript drafts, notes for books and columns; research material; photographs; press releases.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Chamberlain was a syndicated columnist and was in contact with many public personalities including former president Richard Nixon.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Chamberlain Papers is composed of four series. Correspondence contains incoming and outgoing correspondence, including a signed letter from Richard Nixon. Writings contains books, research material, press releases, columns and related material, as well as a second signed letter from Nixon. The collection concludes with a few Photographs and some Miscellaneous material.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Writings are arranged by type; research material and ideas are arranged alphabetically while press releases are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Chamberlain, John, 1903-1995 Archives.

Corporate Bodies

King Features Syndicate.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Journalism, Authorship.
Journalists, United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.
Press releases.

Occupations

Authors.
Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Chamberlain Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John Chamberlain, 1967, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Writings

Photographs

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 1963 - Nixon letter is in folder 12 (12 folders)
Box 2 1964 (13 folders)
Box 3 1964 (4 folders)
Box 3 1965 (8 folders)
Box 4 1965
Box 4 1966 (4 folders)
Box 4 1967 (3 folders)
Writings
Books
Rough drafts
Box 4 History of American Business (2 folders)
Box 4 The Roots of Capitalism (2 folders)
Columns and related material
Research material
Box 4 Miscellaneous
Box 5 Miscellaneous (11 folders)
Box 6 Miscellaneous (12 folders)
Ideas
Box 7 Miscellaneous (12 folders)
Box 8 Balance of payments
Box 8 Church and socialism
Box 8 Common market
Box 8 Cost of living
Box 8 Ecology
Box 8 Ford (2 folders)
Box 8 Foreign trade (3 folders)
Box 8 Libertarian lists
Box 8 Log exports
Box 8 Politics (4 folders)
Box 8 Profit motive
Box 8 Public power
Box 8 Quality of life
Box 8 Religion and schools
Box 8 Republican Party
Box 8 Smith, Grace
Box 8 South, 1965
Box 8 Sports
Box 8 Standard Oil
Box 8 Steel
Box 8 Taxes
Box 8 Technology
Box 8 Turn of the Wheel
Box 8 War and education
Press releases
Box 9 undated (7 folders)
Box 9 1963, Jan-Apr, Jun-Dec (11 folders)
Box 9 1964, Jan-Feb (2 folders)
Box 10 1964, Mar-Dec (10 folders)
Box 10 1965, Jan-May, Jul (6 folders)
Box 11 1965, Sep-Dec - Nixon letter in October (4 folders)
Box 11 1966, Jan-Jun (8 folders)
Box 12 1966, Jul-Nov (5 folders)
Box 12 1967, Jan-Dec (13 folders)
Booklets
Box 12 The Freeman 1957-1967 (84 volumes)
Photographs
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous photographs
Miscellaneous
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous material