Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Marc Chadourne Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01

Revision history:
13 Jun 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Chadourne, Marc, 1895-
Title: Marc Chadourne Papers
Dates: 1928-1956
Quantity: 2.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the French author, novelist. Includes manuscripts in French of novels and Chadourne's biography of Restif de la Bretonne.
Language: French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Marc Chadourne was a French civil servant, author, and novelist, and translator of William Conrad and Henry James.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Marc Chadourne Papers consist of manuscripts in French of Chadourne's writings, including his biography of Restif de la Bretonne and several novels.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by type and within that alphabetically by title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Chadourne, Marc, 1895- Manuscripts.
Restif de la Bretonne, 1734-1806 Biography.

Subjects

Authors, French.
French literature, 20th century.
Novelists, French.

Genres and Forms

Drafts (documents)
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Marc Chadourne Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Manuscripts


Inventory

Manuscripts
Biographies
Restif de la Bretonne
Box 1 No. 1 1954-1956
Box 1 No. 2 1954-1956
Box 1 No. 3 1954-1956
Novels
Absence
Box 1 No. 1 1932
Box 1 No. 2 1932
Box 1 No. 3 1932
Box 1 No. 4 1932
Box 1 No. 5 1932
Box 1 Synopsis 1932 - 2 copies, French and English
Cécile de la Folie
Box 2 No. 1 1928-1930
Box 2 No. 2 1928-1930
Box 2 No. 3 1928-1930
Box 2 No. 4 1928-1930
Box 2 La Clé Perdue 1944-1947
Dieu Créa d'abord Lilith
Box 3 Drafts A No. 1 1936-1937
Box 3 Drafts A No. 2 1936-1937
Box 3 Drafts B No. 1 1936-1937
Box 3 Drafts B No. 2 1936-1937
Box 3 Proofs 1937
Box 3 Typed and complete pages 1-35 1936-1937
Box 3 Typed and complete pages 36-101 1936-1937
Box 4 Le Mal de Coleen (incomplete) 1952
Vasco (incomplete)
Box 4 No. 1 1924-1927
Box 4 No. 2 1924-1927
Box 4 No. 3 1924-1927
Synopsis
Box 4 Vaudou undated
Unidentified
Box 4 No. 1 undated
Box 4 No. 2 undated
Box 4 No. 3 undated
Box 4 No. 4 undated