Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Cayuga County Register of Bonds

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Jan 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Cayuga County (N.Y.). -- Board of Superivisors
Title: Cayuga County Register of Bonds
Dates: 1862-1902
Quantity: 1 volume.
Abstract: Record of bonds issued by the Cayuga County (N.Y.) Board of Supervisors, for various purposes. Records inclued to whom issued, town of residence, date issued, amount, and interest paid.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Cayuga County is located in the state of New York, in the west central area known as the Finger Lakes, bordering Lake Ontario. Originally formed in 1799, the county was named for the Native American tribe, a member of the Iroquois Confederation. Counties in the area split and reformed several times over the years; Cayuga County as it is today was formed in 1817. The county seat includes the Montezuma Wildlife Refuge and the county seat is at Auburn; other towns within the county's border include Cato, Meridian, Scipio, Moravia, Ledyard, Ira and Conquest.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Cayuga County Register of Bonds consists of one large volume, in which are recorded the bonds issued by the Cayuga County Board of Supervisors over a period of forty years. Each series (up to Bonds Series 8) is listed separately; in addition, the book records bonds issued for a particular purpose such as a Seneca River Bridge Loan (1866-1871) and a New Jail Loan (1890-1895).

For each bond, the book records the date and amount of issue, the purchaser (and in some cases his or her town of residence), the date and amount of regular interest payments, and the principal paid at the end of the term.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings related to Central New York politics, governance and public administration. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Cayuga County (N.Y.). -- Board of Superivisors

Subjects

Municipal bonds -- New York (State)
Municipal finance -- Accounting.

Places

Cayuga County (N.Y.) -- History -- 19th century.
Cayuga County (N.Y.) -- Politics and government -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Journals (accounts)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Cayuga County Register of Bonds,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2010.


Table of Contents

Financial papers


Inventory

Financial papers
Volume 1 Record of bonds issued by Cayuga County Board of Supervisors 1862-1902