Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Linda Ty-Casper Manuscripts

A description of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 8 Nov 2010

Revision history:
22 Aug 2016 processed (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ty-Casper, Linda.
Title: Linda Ty-Casper Manuscripts
Dates: circa 1961-1963
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Filipino novelist. Collection consists of manuscripts of her writings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Linda Ty-Casper (1931- ) is a Filipino novelist. Born in Manila, capital of the Philippines, she grew up in Malabon and holds degrees from the University of the Philippines and Harvard University Law School. Her husband, Leonard Casper, is a professor emeritus of Boston College who is also a critic of Philippine Literature.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Linda Ty-Casper Manuscripts consists of manuscripts of her writings, both books and short stories.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type and within that by title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the papers of Leonard Casper.


Subject Headings

Persons

Ty-Casper, Linda.

Subjects

American literature -- Women authors.
Authors, Filipino.
Novelists, American.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Linda Ty-Casper Manuscripts,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1971.


Table of Contents

Books

Short stories


Inventory

Books
Box 1 The Peninsulars circa 1960 - first draft (2 folders)
Box 1 The Peninsulars 1961 - typescript, with corrections (2 folders)
Box 1 The Peninsulars 1962 - typescript, with corrections (2 folders)
Box 2 The Peninsulars 1963 - typescript, with corrections, sent to publisher (3 folders)
Short stories
Box 2 Birdfall - typescript
Box 2 Cousin, cousin - typescript
Box 2 Gently unbending - typescript
Box 2 Measure for measure - typescript
Box 2 The secret runner - typescript, 2 versions
Box 2 Seeds [alternate titles: Germinal, Disinheritance] - typescript