Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Lewis Carroll Letters

A description of his letter at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 10 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Carroll, Lewis, 1832-1898.
Title: Lewis Carroll Letters
Dates: 1882-1892
Quantity: 1 folder
Abstract: 7 letters written by Lewis Carroll to various corespondents, including Edith Blakemore and Enid Stevens (Shawyer).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Lewis Carroll (Charles Lutwidge Dodgson) (1832-1898) was an English author, mathematician, and Anglican deacon best known for his children's books Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lewis Carroll Letters contains 7 letters written by Carroll. The letters span 1882 to 1892 and are addressed to a variety of corespondents. They consist of 1 letter dated 1890 to an unknown minister, 2 letters dated 1890 to an unknown archdeacon, 2 letters and 1 card dated 1882 and 1892 to Carroll's friend Edith Blakemore, and 1 letter with an unknown date sent to another friend Enid Stevens (later Enid Shawyer). All were sent from his residence at Christ Church, Oxford.

The letters and cards addressed to Blakemore are also accompanied by two gift pincushions.


Arrangement of the Collection

The Blakemore letters are mounted together in a scrapbook and the other items are in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center holds many different editions of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland as part of its children's book and illustration collections.


Subject Headings

Persons

Blakemore, Edith Rose, 1872-1947.
Carroll, Lewis, 1832-1898.
Shawyer, Enid Stevens.

Corporate Bodies

Christ Church (University of Oxford).

Subjects

Authors, English -- 19th century -- Correspondence.

Places

Oxford (England) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lewis Carroll Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1966 and 1973.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
Box  1882-1892