Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Carl Carmer Correspondence

An inventory of his correspondence at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 11 Sep 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Carmer, Carl, 1893-1976.
Title: Carl Carmer Correspondence
Dates: 1935-1942
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: The papers of the American author and novelist include a letter from Emily Lovett Eaton about Carmer's Genesee Fever and a letter from Hilda H. Noyes, of Oneida, New York, describing the population of the Oneida Community.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Carl Lamson Carmer was born on October 16, 1893 in Cortland, New York to Mary Lamson Carmer and Willis Griswold Carmer. Carmer graduated from Hamilton College, his father's alma mater, in 1914. Upon graduating from Harvard University with his Masters degree in 1915, Carmer accepted a position as an English instructor at Syracuse University. He subsequently held positions at various universities in central New York, before working at the University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa from 1921-1927. Shortly after leaving the University of Alabama, Carmer began work on, Stars Fell on Alabama, based on regional folklore he collected during his career at the University. On December 24, 1928, Carmer married artist Elizabeth Black.

Carmer wrote both fiction and nonfiction. Perhaps his best known work is The Hudson, published in 1939, for which he earned critical praise. He died September 11, 1976, in Bronxville, NY.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Carl Carmer Correspondence collection contains two pieces of incoming correspondence: a letter from Emily Lovett Eaton about Carmer's Genesee Fever and a letter from Hilda H. Noyes, of Oneida, New York, describing the population of the Oneida Community.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by sender.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Carmer, Carl, 1893-1976.
Carmer, Carl, 1893-1976. -- Genesee fever.
Eaton, Emily Lovett.
Noyes, Hilda Herrick.

Corporate Bodies

Oneida Community.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Novelists, American.
Utopias.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Carl Carmer Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 225 Eaton, Emily Lovett (Mrs. Horace) 12 Jan 1942 (6 pages)
SC 225 Noyes, Hilda H. 10 Dec 1935 (2 pages)