Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Carmen Memorabilia Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 4 Apr 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Carmen Memorabilia Collection
Dates: 1907-1939
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Two items of memorabilia relating to the Georges Bizet opera Carmen
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Carmen is a French opera composed by Georges Bizet and written by Henri Meilhac and Ludovic Halévy. First performed in Paris in 1835, it was not popular in France but was well-received elsewhere. Olive Fremstad (1871-1951) was the stage name of Anna Olivia Rundquist, a celebrated Swedish-American soprano. Blanche Arral (1864-1945) was a Belgian coloratura soprano.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Carmen Memorabilia Collection contains two items: a pair of castanets used by Mme. Fremstad in the title role on the night of the Great San Francisco Earthquake (1907), and a framed photograph of soprano Blanche Arral as Carmen in 1939, signed and inscribed by the singer.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Arral, Blanche, 1864-1945.
Bizet, Georges, 1838-1875 -- Carmen.
Fremstad, Olive, -1951.

Subjects

Opera -- 20th century.
Sopranos (Singers)

Genres and Forms

Photographs.
Props (object genres)

Occupations

Opera singers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Carmen Memorabilia Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
Oversize 1 Castanets, used by Mme. Fremstad 1907
Oversize 1 Photograph of Mme. Arral, signed and inscribed 1939