Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Thomas Carlyle Letters

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Feb 1997

Revision history:
13 May 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Carlyle, Thomas, 1795-1881.
Title: Thomas Carlyle Letters
Dates: 1847-1861
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Three letters of the Scottish essayist and historian. Recipients are Charles B. Darwin, F. B. Currey, and an unknown "Dear Sir."
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Thomas Carlyle (1795-1881) was a Scottish satirical writer, essayist, historian and teacher during the Victorian era. His best known works include Sartor Resartus (1832), The French Revolution (1837), and On Heroes, Hero-Worship, and the Heroic in History (1841).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thomas Carlyle Letters comprises three items of outgoing correspondence. Removed from an autograph first edition of Oliver Cromwell's Letters and Speeches in which it had been laid, the 1861 letter reads in part:

I receive with very great pleasure the little mulberry-tree box from Oliver's Environment at Huntingdon; (not from his own Garden, I fear? But we will believe, he or his Father, as lord of the manor, may have superintended the planting...) At all events, I will keep carefully the little relic; as carrying on it, beyond doubt, some reflex of the great Oliver...

Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The first edition of Oliver Cromwell's Letters and Speeches from which the 1861 letter was removed resides in the library's Rare Book collections, call number DA426 .A15 1845.


Subject Headings

Persons

Carlyle, Thomas, 1795-1881.

Subjects

Authors, Scottish -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thomas Carlyle Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Darwin letter, gift of Sol Feinstone.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 154 Darwin, Charles B. 17 May 1847
SC 154 Currey, F. B. 20 Jul 1849 [?]
SC 154 "Dear Sir" 29 Mar 1861