Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Maren Lockwood Carden Papers on the Oneida Community

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 29 Jan 2014

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Carden, Maren Lockwood.
Title: Maren Lockwood Carden Papers on the Oneida Community
Dates: 1960-2000
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Notes, drafts and research material created or collected by Carden for her book on the Oneida Community.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Maren Lockwood Carden is an American author, sociologist and feminist. Educated at the University of Maryland (M.A., 1957) and Harvard University (Ph.D., 1963), she is the author of numerous books, papers and articles on the Oneida Community, communal societies, and women's studies.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Maren Lockwood Carden Papers on the Oneida Community consists of research notes, correspondence, interview notes, conference papers, and drafts of papers and chapters, all relating to Carden's study of the Oneida Community. Carden's original folders and folder titles were retained; in the few cases where items were not foldered, titles have been assigned. These are indicated by square brackets [ ].


Arrangement of the Collection

Folders are in alphabetical order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

One roll of microfilm, containing the A. J. Macdonald Papers, has been separately cataloged.

See also the Oneida Community Collection for more of Carden's research, including interviews with members of the community.

Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings relating to the Oneida Community and to Utopian communities in general. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index to locate additional manuscript collections, and to the Classic Catalog to locate books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection.

A larger collection of Carden's papers is held by Harvard University Library, accession number: 81-M210.


Subject Headings

Persons

Carden, Maren Lockwood.
Noyes, P. Geoffrey.

Corporate Bodies

Branch Davidians.
Oneida Community.
Oneida, ltd.

Subjects

Family-owned business enterprises.
Collective settlements -- United States.
Intentional communities -- New York (State)

Places

Oneida (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Interviews.
Lectures.
Research notes.

Occupations

Sociologists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Maren Lockwood Carden Papers on the Oneida Community,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Maren Lockwood Carden, 2014.


Table of Contents

[Files]


Inventory

[Files]
Box 1 [Branch Davidians and Oneida - notes on similarities and differences] [circa 1993-1994?]
Box 1 Census of 1908 and 1961 1994
Box 1 Chap III rewritten Sept 68
Box 1 Communal Studies Association paper on Oneida 1994
Box 1 Conference on NYS History Jun 1998 - includes copy of paper presented
Box 1 [Conference on NYS History] 1999 - includes copy of paper presented
Box 1 Conference organized by Kathman 1993 - includes copy of paper presented
Box 1 Conference 1993
Box 1 Conference Elderhostel paper 1996, 1997
Box 1 Correspondence 1974-1977, 1984, 1988, 1991-2000, undated - includes Richard Kathmann, Mansion House
Box 1 Data 1993
Box 1 [Drafts, unidentified]
Box 1 Encycl. NYS
Box 1 Encyclopedia NYS Oneida
Box 2 Interviews by telephone 1993
Box 2 Interviews 1993
Box 2 Interviews compilation
Box 2 Interviews not typed up [1960s?]
Box 2 Management positions [in Oneida]
Box 2 New Zealand 1996 - includes correspondence, notes, drafts for conference presentation
Box 2 [Notes] [1960s] (2 folders)
Box 2 Noyes, Geoff collection + notes, MLC
Box 2 Noyes, Hilda collection and notes, etc.
Box 2 [Proposal for interpretive plan for Mansion House]
Box 2 Reviews/comments thesis & book
Box 2 Statistical analyses
Box 2 Strays
Box 2 [Miscellany]