Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Canandaigua Ship's Log

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 3 Nov 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Stembel, Roger Nelson, 1810-1900.
Title: Canandaigua Ship's Log
Dates: 1866
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Day book of the steamer USS Canandaigua, under Captain R. N. Stembel, USN.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The USS Canandaigua was a heavy (1,395-ton) sloop, with steam engine screw, acquired by the Union Navy during the second year of the American Civil War. She served as gunboat in the blockade of Confederate ports, and after the war operated in Europe and elsewhere.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Canandaigua Ship's Log consists of a single volume covering February to September of 1866, under the command of R. N. Stembel. Ports represented include Cherbourg, Bordeaux, Southampton, Queenstown, Lisbon, and others. The daily log includes temperature, wind, barometric pressure, weather, and an account of the ship's heading and on-board activities.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has several other 18th and 19th century ship's logs. Please search the Classic Catalog , for "ship's logs" for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Stembel, Roger Nelson, 1810-1900.

Corporate Bodies

Canandaigua (Steamship)

Genres and Forms

Ships' logs.

Occupations

Ship captains.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

USS Canandaigua Ship's Log,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase?


Table of Contents

Ship's logs


Inventory

Ship's logs
SC 249 USS Canandaigua February-September, 1866