Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jewett Campbell Papers

An inventoryof his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Feb 1967

Revision history:
16 Jun 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Campbell, Jewett.
Title: Jewett Campbell Papers
Dates: 1950-1964
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: American painter. Collection contains photographs, clippings, published material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jewett Campbell (1912-1999) was an American painter. Although born in New Jersey much of his career was spent in Virginia. He attended the Art Students League of New York and Cooper Union School of Art, and had his first exhibit in 1941. His early work may be classed as romanticism, but he evolved over the years a more minimalist geometrical style. His work has been exhibited at the Corcoran and National Galleries in Washington, DC and the Museum of Modern Art in New York City. In addition to his own work, Campbell was for more than forty years on the faculty of Richmond Professional Institute (later Virginia Commonwealth University) as a professor of painting and printmaking. He was married to the painter Jeanne Begien in 1944, with whom he had one daughter.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jewett Campbell Papers consist of biographical data, subject files (one photograph and one exhibition announcement) and published material (clippings about Campbell's art and photography). Some of the clippings are by Campbell, others about him.


Arrangement of the Collection

Folders are arranged alphabetically and within them, material is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Campbell, Jewett.

Subjects

Art teachers.
Art, Modern -- United States.
Painters -- United States -- 20th century.
Painting -- United States -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Photographs.

Occupations

Painters.
Photographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jewett Campbell Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1964.


Table of Contents

Biographical material

Subject files

Published material


Inventory

Biographical material
SC 744 Miscellaneous biographical data 1964
Subject files
SC 744 Announcement of show 1958
SC 744 Photographs 1950, 1962, 1964
Published material
SC 744 Newspaper clippings about art 1948-1950, 1955-1956, 1958, 1960, 1963, 1964
SC 744 Newspaper clippings about photography 1955, 1964