Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Campbell Farm Document

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 16 Jan 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Campbell Farm Document
Dates: circa 1880
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Legal document describing tract of land in Central New York, near Chittenango Depot.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ebenezer Pennock (1820-1896) was a resident of central New York and a landowner of some 3600 acres, including (apparently) at this time the tract of land known as the Campbell Farm. Among other things he furnished the railroads with wood for their engines and grew onions and celery on his land. He was president of the Chittenango Cotton company and later owner of the mill property, and a director in the Canastota National Bank.

[Information taken from "The Pennocks and the Carpenters," http://members.shaw.ca/familyhistory/pennock/dsp1.htm#P938; not verified.]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Campbell Farm Document consists of a lengthy document detailing the situation, history, and productivity of an area of land in Central New York, near what was then called Chittenango Depot. The reason appears to be the desire of a railroad to cut across the land, thus decreasing its productivity and making access difficult. There are numerous penciled annotations throughout and a list of names at the end (including one annotated in pencil as "a very old man").


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Pennock, Ebenezer.

Corporate Bodies

New York, West Shore & Buffalo Railroad.

Subjects

Farming -- New York (State) -- History.
Railroads -- New York (State) -- History.

Places

Chittenango (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Legal documents.

Occupations

Farmers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Campbell Farm Document,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Legal documents


Inventory

Legal documents
SC 721 Tract description, Campbell's Farm circa 1880