Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Walter C. Cambra Manuscripts

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 30 Jul 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Cambra, Walter C.
Title: Walter C. Cambra Manuscripts
Dates: 1984-1989
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Six typescripts (one a duplicate) of essays offering analyses and interpretations of various Biblical books and/or passages, including the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah and the Book of Revelations.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Walter C. Cambra is a college graduate whose avocation is Biblical study. He is also a member of the Bram Stoker Society of Dublin (Ireland).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Walter C. Cambra Manuscripts consists of six typed essays or papers, one of which is a duplicate item. The manuscripts offer analyses and interpretations of various Biblical books and/or passages, including the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah and the Book of Revelations.

"Sodom and Gomorrah: A New Perspective" suggests that the "sin" for which the two cities were destroyed was not in fact sexual in nature but rather a territorial dispute between local rulers.

"Exodus: From Slavery to Barbarism" (2 copies) analyses Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy and Joshua, and proposes that there was a "formation and consolidation of a theocratic oligarchy prior to the Hebrew entry into the Promised Land."

"On Prophets and Prophecy" discusses the definition of a prophet as one "who voices definitive political policy from within the context of his own generational milieu."

"The Book of Revelation Deciphered" looks at the language and symbolism in the book, proposing that it is in fact "an esoteric account of the Jewish captivity in Babylon during the reigns of Nebuchadnezzar" and others.

"1290 Days: The Book of Daniel Deciphered" offers theories about the historical origins of the book.


Arrangement of the Collection

The manuscripts are in the order prescribed by the author in his correspondence, as given above.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Cambra, Walter C.

Associated Titles

Bible -- Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Bible. -- Daniel -- Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Bible. -- Exodus -- Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Bible. -- Revelation -- Criticism, interpretation, etc.

Subjects

Prophecy.
Prophets.

Places

Gomorrah (Extinct city)
Sodom (Extinct city)

Genres and Forms

Typescripts.

Occupations

Authors.
Biblical scholars.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Walter C. Cambra Manuscripts,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Walter C. Cambra, 1986, 1988.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
Box 1 Sodom and Gomorrah: A New Perspective 1984 - includes laid-in letter from Mary Ann Donovan, S.C., with her comments on the work
Box 1 Exodus: From Slavery to Barbarism 1984 (2 copies)
Box 1 On Prophets and Prophecy 1984
Box 1 The Book of Revelation Deciphered 1985, 1989 - includes laid-in page 20a, added 1989
Box 1 1290 Days: The Book of Daniel Deciphered 1988