Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Randolph Caldecott Letter

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 11 Apr 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Caldecott, Randolph, 1846-1886.
Title: Randolph Caldecott Letter
Dates: 1881
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from English artist and illustrator Randolph Caldecott.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Randolph Caldecott (1846-1886) was an English artist and illustrator, best known for his work in children's books. The prestigious Caldecott Medal, awarded each year since 1937 for "most distinguished American picture book for children," is named for him.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Randolph Caldecott Letter consists of a single short letter from the British artist and illustrator to a Miss Marianne Howse, giving his permission for her to make and sell copies of his illustrations to raise money for "the sick & needy." The notepaper bears the letterhead of the Caldecotts' home, Wybourns.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Caldecott, Randolph, 1846-1886.

Subjects

Children's literature -- Illustrations.
Illustrators, English.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Randolph Caldecott Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, date unknown.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 805 to Marianne Howse 15 Oct 1881