Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Theodore P. Cady Correspondence

A description of his correspondence at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 17 Feb 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Cady, Theodore P.
Title: Theodore P. Cady Correspondence
Dates: 1843-1844
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: 12 incoming letters sent to Theodore P. Cady of Plattsburgh, New York from business associates and friends.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Theodore Platt Cady (1815 - 1847) was an American merchant from Plattsburgh, New York. He married Hannah Maria Mooers/Movers (1821 - 1898) and they had four children (Pauline Cady Stoddard, Hiram Wentworth Cady, Benjamin Mooers Cady, and Theodore Cady).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Theodore P. Cady Correspondence contains 12 letters sent to Cady by his business associates and friends. The letters discuss various financial transactions relating to Cady's mercantile business.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Cady, Theodore P.

Subjects

Merchants -- Correspondence.

Places

Plattsburgh (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Merchants.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Theodore P. Cady Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1966.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 389 1843-1844, undated