Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

John Hutchins Cady Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: CMV
Date: Dec 1978



Biographical History

John Hutchins Cady (1881-1967) was an American architect and architectural historian. He was the youngest son of John Hamlin Cady of Providence, Rhode Island, and Mary Tabitha Eddy, of Somerset, Massachusetts. Cady graduated from Brown University in 1902 and became a renowned historical preservationist and architectural historian in Providence. He served as chairman of the City Plan Commission of Providence and wrote several books, including Highroads and Byroads of Providence (1943); his Civic and Architectural Development of Providence (1957) is considered a classic.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Hutchins Cady Papers consist of four series. Architectural records consist of both original and restoration projects. Committee records consist of different types of records of committees of which Cady was a member. Writings consist of literary works by Cady both in published and unpublished form. Maps of Providence show the growth of the city of Providence, Rhode Island from the year 1650 to the year 1900.


Arrangement of the Collection

The entire collection is arranged according to Cady's own numbering system.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of important and notable architects. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. There are also relevant items in the library's Rare Books department; please see the Classic Catalog for a listing of these.


Subject Headings

Persons

Cady, John Hutchins.

Corporate Bodies

Providence City Planning Commission.

Subjects

Architects -- United States.
Architectural design.
Architectural drawing -- United States -- 20th century.
Architecture -- Designs and plans.
Architecture -- Rhode Island -- Providence.
Architecture -- United States -- 20th century.
Architecture -- United States.
Architecture, American.
Architecture, Domestic.
Historic buildings -- Conservation and preservation.

Places

Providence (R.I.) -- City planning.
Providence (R.I.) -- Maps.

Genres and Forms

Architectural drawings (visual works)
Maps.
Reports.

Occupations

Architects.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Hutchins Cady Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Architectural records

Committee records

Writings

Maps of Providence


Inventory