Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

John L. Cable Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 13 Sep 2010



Biographical History

John L. Cable (1884-1971) was an American attorney and a United States Congressman from Ohio. He graduated from Kenyon College (1906) and from George Washington University law school (1909). He served four terms as a United States Representative from Ohio (1921-1925 and 1929-1933), and was assistant to the Ohio Attorney General (1933-1937). Cable was also the author of several works on law and citizenship. The Cable Act of 1922, which revised citizenship laws relating to American women who married foreign nationals, was largely his work.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John L. Cable Papers consist of correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, photographs, published material, speeches and memorabilia.

Apart from two items (letters to Eisenhower and to George Romney), Correspondence is entirely incoming. Correspondents of interest include Admiraly Byrd, the American Lafayette Society, George Romney and J. Edgar Hoover.

Subject files include material on the Cable Act of 1922, articles about Cable, various certificates of membership and achievement, an official electoral college ballot from the presidential election of 1932, and miscellaneous items such as invitations, clippings, a congressional pass book, and others.

Manuscripts contains manuscripts authored by Cable on women's citizenship and notable citizenship court cases. The latter, a typescript in a large three-ring binder, may be an early draft of Cable's book Decisive Decisions of United States Citizenship.

Photographs consists of two items, one of Cable and one of a relative, Mary Hernley Cable.

Published material contains copies of books, pamphlets and articles by Cable and others. Included here are copies of three of Cable's books, as well as a memorial volume published on the death of his father, Davis J. Cable.

Speeches contains one given by Cable on the citizenship of George Washington and a bound collection of the text of speeches given by Cable before Congress.

Memorabilia consists of seven scrapbooks spanning some thirty years, One includes photostats of documents dated much earlier, perhaps accumulated as research notes for Cable's work on citizenship. There is also a George Washington Bicentennial commemorative pin.


Arrangement of the Collection

As above.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

A copy of Cable's "American citizenship rights of women. Hearing before a subcommittee of the Committee on immigration, United States Senate, Seventy-second Congress, second session, on S. 992..." has been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.


Subject Headings

Persons

Cable, John L. (John Levi), 1884-1971.
Cable, John L. (John Levi), 1884-1971. -- Loss of citizenship, denaturalization, the alien in wartime.
Cable, John L. (John Levi), 1884-1971. -- Rights and responsibilities at railway grade crossings
Hazard, Henry B. -- Administrative naturalization abroad of members of the armed forces of the United States
Holliday, W.T. -- World Law or World Anarchy: The Case for a World Federal Government

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Congress. -- Senate. -- Committee on Immigration.

Subjects

Citizenship -- United States.
Legislators -- Ohio.
Married women -- Legal status, laws, etc. -- United States -- History.
Married women -- Nationality.
Naturalization -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Pamphlets.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Speeches.

Occupations

Lawyers.
Legislators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John L. Cable Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John L. Cable, 1965, 1967, 1973.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts

Photographs

Published material

Speeches

Memorabilia


Inventory